Lynne Francis

Lynne Francis grew up in Yorkshire, the setting for The Mill Valley Girls novels, and now lives in Kent where her new 18th-century saga series is set.


The Mill Valley Girls series was published by One More Chapter (HarperCollins), and Lynne has now signed a 3-book contract with Piatkus, of which The Margate Maid is the first.


She spent much of her working life in London where she co-ran a non-fiction publishing company, but is now a full-time writer. 


Her love of the countryside comes through strongly in all her books, wherever they are set.



Lynne Francis is represented by Kiran Kataria.






The start of a gripping saga of love and betrayal


Margate, 1786. Dairymaid Molly Goodchild dreams of a better life. The one comfort of her day is her friendship with apprentice gardener, Charlie.

When dashing naval officer, Nicholas, arrives in town, Molly's head is turned by his flattering attentions and she casually spurns Charlie - believing this is her chance to escape a life of drudgery. Yet when Molly needs Nicholas most, he lets her down.

With her hopes in tatters, Molly is forced to flee Margate for London, where she finds herself struggling to survive. What will she risk in her search for a better life? And will she ever find the love she deserves? 


The Margate Maid is the first of a trilogy set in the Kent countryside.



Print Print | Sitemap
© Keane Kataria Literary Agency